022 6236 4602

Structure of Atom

01 Atoms

  • Matter is made up of tiny particles called atom.
  • Maharishi Kanada was the first scientist who came up with the concept of divisibility of matter and named the smallest unit as paramanu.
  • Later scientists discovered that atoms are further made up of three subatomic electrons, protons and neutrons.
  • Protons and neutrons are present in a small nucleus at the centre of the atom.
  • Electrons surround the nucleus.
  • Nucleus is the bulk mass present at the centre of the atom.
  • An atom is electrically neutral because it contains an equal number of positively charged protons and negatively charged electrons.
  • Similar to a solar system in which planets revolve around the sun, electrons revolve around the nucleus in an atom.

Start your learning Journey !

Get SMS link to download the app